My parents will be celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary in less than 3 weeks, and given that good seats to The Lion King musical were pretty much sold out by October/November, we decided to cross this off our list.  Going to San Francisco and Portland as a family was enticing, too, except… my brother starts school a week later and my dad’s schedule is too packed until late January.

When dating my mom, my dad apparently scored high in taking her out.  Think of all the lovely fancy restaurants and romantic places in Southern California.  I must give props to my dad for still picking out meaningful cards and writing sentimental messages to my mom and surprising her in the most adorable, unexpected ways.  As of now, I can’t tell if my dad has something up his sleeve.  However he has been sporadically suggesting that we revisit San Francisco and have a grand ol’ family vacation there or something along those lines.  Oh, that silly man.  🙂  Well, I decided that I wanted us (as in my brother and me) to help make our parents’ anniversary extra special this year, so I did the honor of reserving a table for 4 at Scott Conant’s Scarpetta!  I initially narrowed my choices down to Hatfield’s, Osteria Mozza, Spago, and Scarpetta, but I knew in my heart that my parents would appreciate Scarpetta the most (authentic, amazing Italian with sleek decor, anyone?).  And hey, it doesn’t hurt to start planning our outfits already!

Scarpetta_DinnerMarni Forest Green Duster Coat (similar: black one in photo) | Celine Cropped Casual Trousers (similar one in photo) | Fendi Peek-a-Boo | Black Heels

As much as collarless coats and pastel colors have been classic staples in venerable designer collections, they will be the rage this winter and spring.  The great perks of investing in these high-quality classics include being able to wear them for generations and still looking chic and elegant.  BUT when you’re busy paying off college loans, frequenting the latest restaurants with friends, splurging on date nights, and so on, your bank account might thank you for opting for a more budget-friendly alternative–ex. Club Monaco’s Samone Coat or Zara’s Crewneck Coat.

Off to bed, I go.  Have a good night, everyone! I hope to see you tomorrow.

LOVE,
pristine christine

