Image

Homemade Vegetable Soup

Yes, I am Asian. No, I don’t like rice unless I’m eating sushi, kimbap, bibimbap, or donburi.  No, I don’t really enjoy slurping bowls of broth.  However, I can never say no to risotto or paella or a hearty serving of soup.  This is what happens when your family prefers fresh baguettes over rice.  Even so, my case is probably the worst among my family members.  Call me a pain the rear end if you must, but hey, my parents consider me to be a blessing.  

So, what do you do when the weather beseeches you to finally take out your fuzzy socks?  Wear them.  You also find an excuse for cooking a pot of creamy tomato vegetable soup for those you love.  My mom is the type of mom who refused to feed us canned food (other than canned corn and beans or Progresso soup) and would dedicate hours to making the perfect soup base or broth.  She definitely deserves an award for being the best mom.  I love the mother-daughter moments that we share and will forever cherish memories of cooking with and learning from her.  Seriously, Mama Bear ought to release a cook book of her own.  It’d be a shame to hog the blessings, so I am sharing yet another recipe with you.

1 package of Trader Joe’s Vegetable Broth
1 package of Trader Joe’s Organic Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup
4 unpeeled/unskinned tomatoes  
1~1.5 cup sweet corn
2 celery stalks
1 cup organic kidney beans
1 cup organic garbanzo beans/chickpeas
1 yellow squash
1 whole carrot

1. Chop and dice the vegetables. Remove skin from tomatoes.  
2. Simmer half the vegetable broth.
3. Throw in the tomatoes and rest of vegetables.
4. Allow the mixture to cook a bit. 
5. Use half the roasted red pepper soup.  
6. Mix and stir while soup simmers.
7. Taste, taste, taste until you think it’s ready!
(Makes about 12 servings; 1 serving = ~1 cup of soup)

Help yourself to some warm soup, and if you’re like my family, dip a slice of french baguette in it.  (Or, if you’re as health-conscious as I am, substitute the baguette with whole wheat bread!)

Love,
Pristine Christine 

