Taken with my dying Blackberry…

My baking adventures yielded successful outcomes this past weekend!  The mother of a good friend of mine flew in from Virginia, so I decided to bake some apple crumb cake. While I was at it, I went ahead and baked another pan of it for friends.  With no cinnamon and real vanilla extract left, I had to improvise a bit.  Moreover, since I don’t believe in indulging in butter, I used half the recommended amount and elevated the flavors with sweet, sweet Jonagold and Fuji apples and with some melted brown sugar.

Before sliding my pan of goodness into the oven, I topped the mixture with another layer of thinly sliced apples and imitation vanilla extract (sorry, roommate didn’t buy the real thing).  After about 30-35 minutes, I sat the final product on the countertop for a bit and coated it with some melted brown sugar later.

Oh, boy, was this cake a hit with the scoop of vanilla ice cream!  (Or at least, I hope the excitement and good reviews were sincere and true.) While the outer layer crunched with the “crumbs”–hence the name of the cake (no, I didn’t use real crumbs)–the moist bread inside teased tastebuds with nutmeg, a hint of cinnamon, and juice of organic apples.

Regardless of the authenticity of those compliments, try the recipe at home!  At school, I don’t have a mixer, so I stirred everything with a spoon.  Luckily, in the end, my own version–a pleasantly delicious one, too–of the cake came to be!  Do try both mixing the ingredients in a bowl by hand as well as using an actual mixer though, because the texture and taste of the cakes will probably differ.

 Much thanks to Sarah Cucina for the inspiration!

Making pumpkin pie cheesecake bars is my next challenge! Hope for the best!

Love,
Pristine Christine

